

Club Champions

Here are Reading Country Club's champion golfers. The match detail is reported unless it was not reported in the newspaper or available elsewhere.

1924	Ernest J. Poole, Jr. defeated Harry Maurer (detail not found)
1925	Harry Maurer defeated Ray Dengler, 8 and 7 (36 holes – first championship played on the
	18-hole course)
1926	Not found
1927	Not found
1928	Billy Bair (details not found)
1929	Not found 1930 Fred Krug (detail not found)
1931	John Rader, Jr. (detail not found)
1932	John Rader, Jr. defeated Dick Hoffer, 4 and 3
1933	Fred Krug defeated Howard Kachel, 8 and 6 (36 holes)
1934	Dick Hoffer defeated Barney Ollivierre, 10 and 9 (36 holes)
1935	Billy Eben (age 16) defeated Larry O'Connor, 1 up (36 holes)
1936	Billy Bair defeated Earle Biehl, 2 and 1 (36 holes)
1937	Larry O'Connor defeated Billy Eben, Jr., 4 and 2 (36 holes)
1938	Marshal Palmer defeated Gordon Rainey, 2 and 1 (36 holes)
1939	Charley Wentzel defeated Gordon Williams, 5 and 4 (36 holes)
1940	Gordon Rainey defeated Billy Eben, 1-up (36 holes)
1941	Billy Eben defeated Gordon Rainey, 8 and 7 (36 holes)
1942	Gordon Williams defeated Dick Hoffer, 10 and 9 (36 holes)
1943	Not found (may have been cancelled because of WW2)
1944	Not found (may have been cancelled because of WW2)
1945	David Hafer
1946	Wilmer Faber (detail not found)
1947	Billy Eben (detail not found)
1948	Buddy Lutz (detail not found)
1949	Buddy Lutz defeated Billy Eben, 6 and 5 (36 holes)
1950	George Smith defeated Billy Eben, 4 and 3 (18 holes)
1951	Buddy Lutz defeated Fred Leese, 8 and 7
1952	George Smith defeated Clarence Ulmer, 5 and 4
1953	Nick Shestok defeated Mickey Norton, 4 and 3 (18 holes)
1954	Corky Lott defeated Bill Ciabattoni, 1-up (36 holes)
1955	Nick Shestok defeated Sam Coccodrilli, 2 and 1
1956	Paul Hill defeated Buddy Lutz, 39 holes (36 holes)

1957 Buddy Lutz defeated Jay Gibney, 10 and 9 (36 holes)

Club Champions

1958	Buddy Lutz defeated Corky Lott, 4 and 2 (36 holes)
1959	Buddy Lutz defeated Bill Ciabattoni, 3 and 2 (36 holes)
1960	Corky Lott defeated Earl Janaskie, 5 and 3 (36 holes)
1961	Corky Lott defeated Bill Ciabattoni, 2 and 1 (36 holes)
1962	Corky Lott defeated George Smith, 8 and 7 (36 holes)
1963	Earl Chrusciel defeated Glen Biesenbach, 5 and 4 (36 holes)
1964	Buddy Lutz defeated Bill Ciabattoni, 38 holes (36 holes)
1965	Gil Gilbert defeated Sam Codi, 1 up (36 holes)
1966	Buddy Lutz defeated Steve Norton, 7 and 6 (36 holes)
1967	Steve Norton defeated Don Sowers, 4 and 3 (36 holes)
1968	Leroy Oudinot defeated Fred Tyler 6 and 5 (36 holes)
1969	Sam Codi defeated Dick Bausher, 4 and 3 (36 holes)
1970	Joe Mullarkey defeated Sam Codi, 2 and 1 (36 holes)
1971	Danny Vespico (details not found)
1972	Joe Mullarkey defeated Dick Kauffman, 1-up (36 holes) 1973 Joe Mullarkey 209;
	Herman Fry 221; Don Sowers 221 (54 holes)
1974	Nick Meter defeated Jim Rutter, 2 and 1 (18 holes)
1975	Mike Heller defeated Hugh McCullough 3 and 2 (18 holes)
1976	Fred Tyler defeated Dick Kaufman, 3 and 2 (18 holes)
1977	Dick Arms defeated Chip Lutz, 1-up (18 holes)
1978	Hugh McCullough defeated Fred Borchers, 1-up (18 holes)
1979	Chip Lutz 216; Hugh McCullough 219; Mike Heller 223; Jack Murphy 225;
	Fred Tyler 226 (54 holes)
1980	Hugh McCullough 220; Chip Lutz 221; Dick Bausher 228; Mike Heller 229 (54 holes)
1981	Mike Heller 141; Charley Faber 152; Bruce Balthaser 153; Dwayne Hudson and
	Fred Tyler 155 (36 holes)
1982	Dick Hasson 144; Craig Hawk 148; Don Sowers 150; Herman Fry 151;
	Mike Heller 151 (36 holes)
1983	Fred Tyler 146; Dick Hasson 149; Don Sowers 150 (36 holes)
1984	Herman Fry 144; Craig Hawk 146; Mike Heller 147; John Franco 158 (36 holes)
1985	Herman Fry 206; Mike Heller 215; Fred Tyler 216; Dick Arms 217; John Franco 219 (54 holes)
1986	John Franco 218; Mike Heller 224 (54 holes)
1987	Mike Heller 223; Steve Mittl, Jr. 224; Fred Tyler 226; Ed Kroener 226; Dave Lindbom 230;
	Greg Gottschal 232; Ken Thomason 237; Corky Lott 238; Jim Rutter 240;
	Gene Shurr248 (54 holes)



Club Champions

1988	John Franco 226; Dave Lindbom 227; Mike Heller 228; Ed Kroener 230;
	Fred Tyler 231 (54 holes)

- 1989 Dave Lindbom 221; Joe Klemmer 222; Fred Tyler 223; Joe Cala 229; Putter Lutz 229; Craig Hawk 231; Bruce Kline 232 (54 holes)
- 1990 Chip Lutz 210; Dave Lindbom 214; Scott Orr 220; Mike Heller 223; Bruce Kline 227; Dick Arms 227 (54 holes)
- 1991 Fred Tyler 222; Greg Gottshall 225; Bruce Kline 227; Craig Hawk 228; Mike Heller 228 (54 holes)
- 1992 Fred Tyler 217; Scott Orr 224; Bruce Kline 224; Craig Hawk 228; Greg Gottshall 228 (54 holes)
- 1993 Putter Lutz 219; Fred Tyler 221; Mike Heller 221; Rich Rotharpt228; Bill Norris 229 (54 holes)
- 1994 Fred Tyler 216; Putter Lutz 231; Chris Butler 233
- 1995 Putter Lutz 220; Fred Tyler 221; George Grafton 230; John McKeon 232; Bill Norris 232 (54 holes)
- 1996 Brian Psota 218; Brent Wiley 219; Putter Lutz 221; Gary Romig 221 (54 holes)
- 1997 Dave Speece 219; Mike Heller 224; Fred Tyler 225; Bill Norris 226; Bruce Kline 226; Gary Buck 229; Chris Lucci 231; Greg Gottshall 232; George Grafton 232; Jack McKeon 243 (54 holes)
- 1998 Mike Heller 218; Bruce Kline 224; George Grafton 230; Fred Tyler 231 (54 holes)
- 1999 George Grafton 218; Pete Betz 235; Chris Lucci 238 (54 holes)
- **2000** Bill Norris 221; Mike Heller 223; Fred Tyler 226; George Grafton 231; John Golaston 232 (54 holes)
- **2001** George Grafton 222; Pete Betz 228; Mike Heller 228; Fred Tyler 229; Greg Gottshall 229 (54 holes)
- 2002 Chris Lucci 149; Fred Tyler 150; George Griffaton 151; Greg Gottshall 154 (36 holes)
- **2003** Jimmy Ward 218; Pete Betz 226; Mike Heller 228; Rich Gaynor 228; Fred Tyler 229; John McKeon 233; Greg Geiger 234; Craig Mauer 238 (54 holes)
- 2004 Jimmy Ward 136; Pete Betz 143; Fred Tyler 149; Mike Heller 154; Rich Gaynor 156; Greg Gottshall 156; Marty Krynock 157; Greg Geiger 158; Barry Unger 163; Scott Gabel 170 (36 holes)
- 2005 Pete Betz 228; Greg Gottschall 233; Bill Norris 237; Ron Tindall 238; Greg Geiger 240; Fred Tyler 244; Ed McKeaney 247; Frank De Hapt 248 (54 holes)
- 2006 No tournament.
- 2007 Guy McKeone defeated Blayne Hoffert, 1 up (18 holes)
- **2008** Greg Galtere defeated Denny Hess, 5 and 4 (18 holes)
- 2009 Greg Galtere defeated Bill Goad, 3 and 2 (18 holes)
- 2010 Greg Galtere 227; Tom Walker 239; Guy McKeone 241; Dave Seelig 241; Tim Daley 251; Vinnie Franckowiak 254; Ron Woodring 259 (54 holes)
- **2011** Dave Seelig defeated Dave Seidel, 2 up (18 holes)



Club Champions

2012	Byron Whitman defeated Guy McKeone, 5 and 4 (18 holes)
2013	Matt Hadley defeated Greg Galtere, 3 and 2 (18 holes)
2014	Jon Dutcher defeated Bill Norris, 3 and 1 (18 holes)
2015	Greg Kleinert defeated Matt Hadley, 1 up (18 holes)
2016	James Furness defeated Guy McKeone, 2 and 1 (18 holes)
2017	Guy McKeone defeated Jim Christiana, 6 and 5 (18 holes)