

# Furness Goes Low, Takes the RCC Tradition Title

July 23, 2019... James Furness shot a one-under-par 69 in Sunday's second round to take the Hogan Flight of the 2019 RCC Tradition. He then won the overall championship in a six-hole playoff against the other flight winners. With his win-Furness gets the second seed in the Nelson Cup club championship. Defending champion Alex Seelig has the first seed.

**Dave Morris** took the Palmer flight in an exciting duel with **Tim Daley**, who rallied from five points behind to a tie on the 18<sup>th</sup>
tee. Tim birdied three of his first four holes. On 18, Morris played from the sand to 12 feet. After Daley missed from 17 feet, Dave calmly rolled in his putt for a one-point victory.

**John Messerly** rode a five-birdie barrage to win the Nicklaus Flight while **Bill Haas** took the Watson Flight by five points.

## Hogan Flight: Medal Play, blue tees

- 1. James Furness 71-69-140
- 2. Alex Seelig 71-74-145
- 3. Matt Hadley 75-79—154
- 4. Greg Galtere 77-80-157
- 5. Dave Seelig 79-79—158
- 6. Tom Walker 88-81-169

#### Nicklaus Flight: Gross Stableford, white tees

- 1. John Messerly 25-34—59 points
- 2. Yang Vang 23-30-53
- 3. Rennie Sacco 27-26-53
- 4. Phil Harsh 25-28-53
- 5. Bill Reppert 24-25-49
- 6. Tony Cotellese 27-21-48

#### Palmer Flight: Gross Stableford, white tees

- 1. Dave Morris 29-22—51 points
- 2. Tim Daley 24-26-50
- 3. Jimmy Johnson 22-25—47
- 4. Rob Galtere 18-24-42
- 5. Ben Burgess 19-18—37
- 6. Bud Lewis 19-17-36

#### Watson Flight: Net Stableford, gold tees

- 1. Bill Haas 39-35—74 points
- 2. Ernie Danneberg 33-36-69
- 3. Rick Newstein 35-34-69
- 4. Bobby Porch 36-32—68
- 5. Pete Pellicano 33-34—67
- 6. Tony Domenick 28-24—52



The RCC Tradition flight winners, from the left, Dave Morris, Bill Haas, James Furness and John Messerly.



Dave Morris holes a 12-foot putt on the 18<sup>th</sup> green to win the Palmer Flight.



Bambi checks out the action on the 11th fairway.



### Six-hole Playoff Format: Net Stableford

James Furness—13 points, overall RCC Tradition Champion John Messerly—11 Bill Haas—11 Dave Morris-10

Sunday

Sunday

Sunday

## Closest to the Pin Saturday

#4—Bill Reppert Tim Daley #6—Alex Seelig Tony Cotellese #8—Phil Harsh Yang Vang #10—Ben Burgess John Messerly #15—Dave Morris James Furness

## Flight 1 Skins Saturday

#1—Alex Seelig #3—James Furness #3—Alex Seelig #4—John Messerly #4—Matt Hadley #5—John Messerly #6—Alex Seelig #6—Dave Seelig #9-Matt Hadley #10—John Messerly #10—Tony Cotellese #15—James Furness #16—James Furness #16—Alex Seelig #17—Alex Seelig

# Flight 2 Skins Saturday

#1—Jimmy Johnson #1—Tim Daley #14-Rob Galtere #2-Tim Daley #15—Dave Morris #4—Tim Daley #6—Bobby Porch #12—Bud Lewis

#10-Ben Burgess #16-Bill Haas #18—Ernie Dannenberg



Alex Seelig putts for eagle on the 17<sup>th</sup> hole on Sunday.



Bill Reppert gets things going on Saturday as playing companions John Messerly, left, and Vang Yang await their turn.

Bill Hass makes par with this putt on the first playoff hole.

